Latest News

Publicitymedia Joins Sponsors 2014 Critics’ Circle Film Awards

Posted on by

Publicitymedia was among the headline sponsors of this year’s Critics’ Circle Film Awards – a night that saw Gary Oldman honoured for his incredible achievements in film when when was presented with the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence.


The big winner at the ceremony was 12 Years a Slave, which picked up awards for Film of the Year, Actor Chiwetel Ejiofor and Supporting Actress Lupita Nyong’o. Steve McQueen was on hand to collect the awards.


The Selfish Giant won two awards – British Film and Young British Performer for Conner Chapman – giving filmmakers Clio Barnard and Tracy O’Riordan and actors Chapman, Shaun Thomas and Lorraine Ashbourne a chance to celebrate on stage.

Barkhad Abdi delighted the crowd accepting the Supporting Actor award for his role in Captain Philips, while Jon S Baird took to the stage twice, first to collect the Breakthrough British Filmmaker for Filth and then as a stand-in for British Actor John McAvoy.

Steve Coogan accepted Judi Dench’s award for British Actress. And Andy Serkis read out a hilarious thank you from Cate Blanchett, who won Actress.

Other winners present included Andre Singer, producer of Documentary of the Year The Act of Killing, and Tim Webber, winner of the Technical Achievement Award for Gravity’s visual effects.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film to Gary Oldman. John Hurt was on hand to deliver a heartfelt introduction, and Oldman had the crowd in the palm of his hand with a beautiful thank you speech.

Sadly the ceremony opened on a solem note with the announcement of Philip Seymour Hoffman’s death, which was confirmed just as the event was starting. Hoffman won Supporting Actor at last year’s CC Film Awards for his role in The Master.


Film of the Year – 12 Years A Slave

Foreign-language Film of the Year – Blue Is The Warmest Colour

Documentary of the Year – The Act of Killing

British Film of the Year – The Selfish Giant

Director of the Year – Alfonso Cuaron, Gravity

Screenwriter of the Year – Ethan Coen & Joel Coen, Inside Llewyn Davis

Actor of the Year – Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years A Slave

Actress of the Year – Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Supporting Actor of the Year – Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips

Supporting Actress of the Year – Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years A Slave

British Actor of the Year – James McAvoy, Filth/Trance/Welcome To The Punch

British Actress of the Year – Judi Dench, Philomena

Young British Performer of the Year – Conner Chapman, The Selfish Giant

Breakthrough British Filmmaker – Jon S Baird, Filth

Technical Achievement Award – Tim Webber, Gravity special effects

Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film – Gary Oldman